The IACP/Thomson Reuters Award for Excellence in Criminal Investigation

2016 Finalists

2015 Winners

2014 Winners


ECI Award Trophy

The IACP/Thomson Reuters Award for Excellence in Criminal Investigations will be given to the law enforcement agency, law enforcement unit, task force, or inter-agency task force in recognition of exceptional innovation and excellence in the area of criminal investigations.

Goal: To recognize quality achievements in managing and conducting criminal investigations and to promote the sharing of information on successful programs.

Award Categories: One winner, two runners-up.

Evaluation Criteria: Nominees will be evaluated based on

            •  The significance of the contribution to the advancement of the art or science of
                  criminal investigations

            •  Innovation in the development or enhancement of investigative techniques


Process: IACP's Police Investigative Operations Committee will be responsible for reviewing all applications and selecting all winners.

Each nomination must be endorsed by the chief executive of the agency, or in the case of the nomination of an inter-agency task force, by one chief executive of one of the member agencies.

The IACP Police Investigative Operations Committee will evaluate each application and select a winner and two runner-up recipients. The announcement of the winners and the award presentation will be at the IACP Annual Conference.

Please click here for the 2016 application. 

Mail all nominations to:

IACP/Police Investigative Operations Committee
ATTN: Sara Dziejma
44 Canal Center Plaza, Ste 200
Alexandria, VA 22314


For more information about the award, please contact Sara Dziejma.