IACP/Motorola Webber Seavey Award

Quality in Law Enforcement

Webber Seavey Banner

2016 Application Deadline: June 10, 2016

The IACP/Motorola Webber Seavey Award for Quality in Law Enforcement was established to recognize a standard of excellence that exemplifies law enforcement's contribution and dedication to the quality of life in our communities.

Recognizing Excellence
Quality in police work is a critical factor in the well being and safety of our communities. The IACP/Motorola Webber Seavey Award is presented annually at the IACP Annual Conference & Exposition to agencies that have implemented an innovative project focused on enhancing quality in law enforcement. This award allows agencies to exchange and share ideas and solutions with other public safety agencies around the globe.

Law enforcement agencies of all sizes can compete for this award on an annual basis by developing innovative projects within their organizations and communities. Agencies both large and small have an equal chance of winning and can submit applications for multiple projects.

Brief History
The award is named after Chief Webber S. Seavey, the IACP’s first president more than a century ago. Seavey exemplified the dedication to the profession and problem-solving acuity that his namesake award has been established to honor.

A joint IACP/Motorola committee was formed in 1992 to develop the program. The award was grounded in a desire to continually promote and foster quality within law enforcement. The award would serve three goals:

      1. Recognize outstanding quality achievements in law enforcement;
      2. Promote awareness and understanding of quality as it affects law enforcement;
      3. Facilitate the sharing of information on successful quality programs.

With these goals in mind, the program was officially launched at the 1992 IACP Annual Conference & Exposition.

How to Apply
2016 Application Guidelines (Coming Soon)

2016 Call for Applications (Coming Soon)

The program annually honors achievements in one or more of the following goals:

  • Continually improving services to the community;
  • Strengthening police relations and promoting community participation;
  • Effectively using resources;
  • Enhancing communications within and cooperation among agencies;
  • Developing creative and innovative approaches that promote excellence in law enforcement.

Winner Recognition
Up to three agencies are selected annually as winners of the IACP/Motorola Webber Seavey Award. The winners will be recognized onstage at the First General Assembly and will also have 15 minutes to present their project during an educational session at the IACP Annual Conference & Exposition.  Each agency will receive:

  • Two complimentary registrations to the IACP Annual Conference & Exposition (Approximate $1,050 value)
  • Transportation costs for two to attend the conference (Approximate $1,200 value)
  • Two nights lodging accommodations for two (Approximate $1,000 value)
  • Three days of meal and incidental per diem for two (Approximate $350 value)

For questions or additional information please contact webberseavey@theiacp.org.

The International Association of Chiefs of Police: IACP Jobs, IACP, Missing Alzheimer's Disease Patient Initiative