The National Law Enforcement Challenge

The National Law Enforcement Challenge is a traffic safety recognition program supported by a cooperative agreement between the International Association of Chiefs of Police (IACP) and the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA). It is held in partnership with the National Sheriffs' Association (NSA), the Governors Highway Safety Association (GHSA), and the American Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators (AAMVA).


Applications for the 2016 National Law Enforcement Challenge will be due on Monday, May 2, 2016, by 11:59 PM EST.


The NLEC focuses on the traffic safety issues of impaired driving, occupant protection, and speed awareness. Additionally, agencies can select a traffic safety issue that has been identified as a problem in their state or locality. Within each of these four categories, participating agencies are evaluated and awarded points on their approaches to these traffic safety issues based on seven factors: Problem Identification, Policies, Planning, Training, Public Information & Education, Enforcement, and Outcomes.

There will be multiple divisions within the Municipal, Sheriff, and State Police/Highway Patrol categories based on agency size. The number of agency categories will be determined from the spread of agency sizes submitted for those three categories AFTER the application process closes.


Agency Categories Special Award Considerations
Municipal Bike/Pedestrian Safety
Sheriff CMV Safety - State Police
State Police/Highway Patrol CMV Safety - Municipal/Sheriff
College/University Distracted Driving
International Agencies Impaired Driving
Military Police Motorcycle Safety
 Regional Enforcement Efforts Occupant Protection
 Special Law Enforcement Speed Awareness
  Traffic Incident Management



Download the 2016 National Law Enforcement Challenge application form below:

Fillable PDF: 2016 NLEC Application

Word Version: 2016 NLEC Application


National Law Enforcement Challenge applications are now only via email. In order to apply,  agencies will need to download the NLEC application form, which will require you to answer submission disclosure questions. Please read the How-To Guide before starting your application. 

Applications must be submitted to


How-To Guide

Marketing Flyer

Nine Tips to Jumpstart Your Application



Agencies should have two attachments for each section in a PDF, Word, or PowerPoint format. Agencies should make sure the attachments contain the qualifying and quantifying information needed to answer the questions in the subsections as specified in the How-To Guide (Problem Identification, Policy, Planning, Training, Public Information & Education, Enforcement, and Outcomes). 

The first document should include documentation/information to demonstrate your agency's activities and accomplishments in six sections (Problem Identification, Planning, Training, Public Information & Education, Enforcement, and Outcomes). The second attachment must contain only the Policy section. 

Additional attachments can be submitted for any special award considerations your agency would like to be considered for. Agencies who are applying for a Special Award should have one attachment for each special award they would like to be considered for (no more than 10 pages).  No attachment is needed for the Special Award categories of Occupant Protection, Impaired Driving, or Speed Awareness. If your State/Local Issue is an application for a Special Award, please check the box on the NLEC application form and indicate which Special Award you are applying for. Each attachment should be no more than 10 pages and no larger than 10 MB.

Additional guidelines for the Special Awards can be found in the How-To Guide (below). 

Agencies can email the NLEC application form and all application attachments, including Special Award considerations, to Please make sure the subject line indicates your agency name and NLEC submission. 

You will receive a confirmation email once your application has been received.


Submission Disclosure Questions

Agencies will need to answer every question in the submission disclosure section. Click here to review the questions.


January 20, 2015 - For the second year in a row, Laser Technology, Inc., (LTI) and the International Association of Chiefs of Police's (IACP) National Law Enforcement Challenge (NLEC) traffic safety recognition program are joined forces to co-host an informative webinar about the 2015 National Challenge.

2015 National Law Enforcement Challenge Quick-Start Guide 

February 25, 2015 - The American Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators (AAMVA), a partner of the National Law Enforcement Challenge, hosted a webinar on February 25, 2015, highlighting the participation of IACP’s State & Provincial agencies in the NLEC. The speakers include Brian Ursino, Director of Law Enforcement with AAMVA; Chief Howard Hall of the Roanoke County, VA, Police Department; Chief Mark Brunet of California Highway Patrol; and Lt. Colonel Dereck Stewart of Tennessee Highway Patrol.

Partner Program Highlight: IACP National Law Enforcement Challenge

April 9, 2015 - Laser Technology Inc. (LTI) and the International Association of Chiefs of Police (IACP) have fostered a lasting relationship to support the IACP's National Law Enforcement challenge (NLEC). In preparation for the 2015 NLEC application deadline, the final webinar in this years' two part series aired on April 9 at 9:30 AM.

Improving Traffic Safety Programs through the National Law Enforcement Challenge


Model Applications

Peachtree City Police Department

Arlington County Police Department

Westmoreland County Sheriff's Office

Maryland State Police


State Association and Governor's Highway Safety Office Award 

The State Association and Governor’s Highway Safety Office (GHSO) Award recognizes state associations and GHSO partners for their exceptional work in encouraging agencies in their state to participate in the National Law Enforcement Challenge (NLEC). To nominate a state association or GHSO, complete the application, including supporting documentation and appropriate references, and submit it to Please make sure the subject line indicates your applications for the state associations/ governor highway safety award. Application deadline to be announced this fall. 

Past NLEC Winners

2015 Challenge Winners

2014 Challenge Winners

2012 Challenge Winners

2011 Challenge Winners

2010 Challenge Winners

2009 Challenge Winners

2007 Challenge Winners  

2006 Challenge Winners

2005 Challenge Winners

2004 Challenge Winners

Photos from the Past Year's Events



Traffic Safety Innovations

The IACP and NHTSA developed Traffic Safety Innovations, a booklet that provides insights from some of the National Law Enforcement Challenge winners about what ideas they are employing that have had a positive impact on their community. Traffic Safety Innovations provides a snapshot of what these agencies are doing to get people to buckle up and slow down.

Traffic Safety Innovations 2012

Traffic Safety Innovations 2013

Traffic Safety Innovations 2014

Traffic Safety Innovations 2015

Traffic Safety Dispatch Newsletter

Contact Us

NLEC Application Contacts

Bethany Petersen,
703-836-6767, ext. 263

The International Association of Chiefs of Police: IACP Homepage