2008 J. Stannard Baker Award Winners

2008 J. STANNARD BAKER AWARD WINNERS Staff Sergeant Ian S. Mitchell Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP) Swift Current, Saskatchewan, Canada Staff Sergeant Mitchell developed in 1997 a community partnership, which built a drag racer, secured authorization to mark it as a police vehicle, and extensively traveled under this “Race Against Drugs” program to highlight the dangers of drugs and street racing. He still is involved with this effort, which has served as “an icebreaker” between law enforcement and young people. Leonard R. “Bob” Jacob Director Institute of Police Technology and Management (IPTM) Jacksonville, Florida Bob Jacob’s dedication to traffic safety has made this country a safer place in which to drive because of his unrelenting determination to validate and promote everywhere the professional knowledge and the proper tools to impact existing problems. Officer Sean D. McGrath Police Department Crystal Lake, Illinois Officer McGrath founded “Operation Cool” (now “Operation Click”) in Crystal Lake—and has served as its president since its inception in1998—to encourage students in three high schools to use seat-belts and not receive any traffic citation(s) during the school year, and to be eligible thereafter for various prizes. Seat-belt usage rose from 65 percent in 1998, to well over 90 percent in 2007 in those three schools, and the program has been expanded to other jurisdictions.

Related File

Related Link