2007 National Law Enforcement Challenge Award Winners Announced

Annual Judging The annual judging of 2007 IACP National Law Enforcement Challenge applications took place at IACP Headquarters in Alexandria, VA May 12th through 18th. There were a total of 24 judges representing various traffic safety disciplines.

Three Judges All applications were assigned to a team of three judges who reviewed each application in their assigned categories. There were a total of 560 Challenge applications submitted this year, an increase from 545 in 2007. There were 361 applications from municipal agencies, 18 state police/highway patrol entries, 72 sheriff department applications, 2 foreign entries, 13 entries from multi-jurisdictional agencies, 4 military police applications, 21 college law enforcement entries and 23 entries in the Championship class, which were 1st place winners from last year.

Entries There were 95 entries from California, 82 from Georgia, 81 from Florida, 66 from Tennessee, 52 entries from Virginia, 43 from Illinois, 22 from Connecticut, 15 from Vermont and 3 from Maryland. Each of these states has their own state-level Challenge program. A total of 30 states were represented.

Special Categories Additionally, eleven “special category” awards were determined by the judging team. First place winners in each category is entitled to roundtrip air transportation to the IACP Annual Conference, lodging for two nights, 2 Complementary Annual Conference Registrations, and complimentary seating at the awards ceremony for four. If your agency is interested in applying for the 2008 National Law Enforcement Challenge, contact Clarence Bell, NLEC Program Manager. Click here to see the winners.

Related Link