Vehicle CRIMES Award of Merit

The Vehicle Crimes Award of Merit, was created for law enforcement agencies, task forces, councils, community partnerships, and other theft prevention alliances worldwide to showcase the results of their Calendar Year 2015 theft prevention and/or enforcement programs. Agencies―both large and small―have an equal chance of winning; entries are evaluated on initiative, on use of available resources, and on overall results. Allowing agencies to share how they successfully curbed vehicle theft in their jurisdiction.

Five awards will be presented, with one agency being chosen from each of the following categories:

  • Category 1 Agencies : 1—75 personnel
  • Category 2 Agencies: 76—250 personnel
  • Category 3 Agencies: 251—1,000 personnel
  • Category 4 Agencies: 1,001+ personnel
  • Category 5 Multi-agency/Task forces1
  • Category 6 Individual2

Evaluation Process
Each Vehicle Crimes Award of Merit will be evaluated by members of the Vehicle Theft Committee of the International Association of Chiefs of Police. Evaluators will use a point system to ensure that the maximum number of points are awarded to each agency application.

Presentation of Awards
One representative from each winning agency, as well as the law enforcement officer recognized for outstanding contribution(s), will be invited to attend the Annual IACP Conference where the Vehicle Crimes Award of Merit is presented. Travel expenses to the Annual Conference, the cost of one registration, and three nights' stay at a designated hotel are provided to the winner of each category.

Past Winners

2013 Winners
2012 Winners

Related Link

Vehicle Crimes Committee

For further information, contact


1Any agency that submits a multi-agency task force award will be required to fill out a multi-agency notification form. The form will require the winning multi-agency point of contact to confirm that they have notified all agencies that participated in the case of the award recognition. Additionally, the point of contact will be required to work with all agencies involved in the case to identify for IACP who will be accepting the award, the name to be on the award, and who will be accepting the travel components of the award. Agencies not able to do this in the requested time period may not be able to receive all components of the award.

2This award recognizes an individual law enforcement officer who made an outstanding contribution during the calendar year 2014 to vehicle theft prevention and/or enforcement.