IACP/Security Industry Association Michael Shanahan Leadership in Public/Private Cooperation

The award seeks to recognize outstanding achievement in the development and implementation of public/private cooperation in public safety. This award recognizes agencies who have demonstrated outstanding achievements in cooperative efforts in public safety.

This award, in honor of Chief Michael Shanahan (Retired), who served the University of Washington Police Department for 24 years before retiring in 1995, seeks to recognize outstanding achievements in the development and implementation of Public/Private Cooperation in the Public Safety. Chief Shanahan made significant contributions to world wide public safety serving as the Co-Chair of the IACP Private Sector Liaison Committee (PSLC) from 1985 to 1999. Under his leadership the PSLC focused on solutions to critical public/private sector issues such as product tampering, drugs in the workplace, guidelines for non-sworn responders to alarms, workplace and school violence, and hiring and training guidelines for security guards. Chief Shanahan was the chair of the IACP’s State Association of Chiefs of Police (SACOP), 1983-1989. He remains a highly respected national leader, innovator, and advocate, who recognized the critical importance of public/private partnerships in enhancing an individual community's public safety and the accumulative positive impact such collaborative actions have on protecting the vital interests of a community. The Security Industry Association (SIA) is the sole corporate sponsor of the award.

The award recipient, will be invited to attend the IACP Annual Conference where the individual will be honored during IACP's Annual Banquet. Travel expenses (airfare up to $500) to the Annual Conference, the cost of one registration, and three nights' stay at a designated hotel are provided to the award recipient.

Deadline Date: CLOSED

Application: Michael Shanahan Leadership Award Application.

Related Files:

Shanahan Award Presentation (PPT)

Synopsis of Past Recipients and Applicants of Note

For further information, contact awards@theiacp.org