"How To" Guide State Association & GHSO Award • Past Winners PublicationsContact Us


The National Law Enforcement Challenge (NLEC) is a national traffic safety awards program that recognizes excellent law enforcement traffic safety programs.

The program provides law enforcement agencies with an opportunity to make a difference in the communities they serve and allows agencies to learn from one another and establish future goals in traffic safety enforcement and education.

We are pleased to announce the 2014 NLEC Winners:

2014 National Law Enforcement Challenge Winners

Award Program Change

The NLEC has modified its categories and criteria, which will quantify and qualify the activities agencies completed during a calendar year. While the NLEC will continue to focus on occupant protection, impaired driving, and speed, a section for state/local issues has been added. All sections will ask specific open-ended questions requiring participating agencies to share what they are doing in their jurisdictions in these key focus areas. 

The new section criteria have been modified to better specify the capabilities and outstanding achievements of all participating agencies. The new criteria include Problem Identification, Planning, and Outcomes. Problem Identification can include crash analysis, speed surveys, seatbelt surveys and community input. Planning requires an agency to provide a description of the problem, measuring objectives, monitoring activities and overall evaluations. Lastly, Outcomes focus on how the changes made in each agency’s community affected overall safety. 

In addition to the topical changes the category sizes and special awards considerations have also been modified. The new categories are,



State Police and Highway Patrols


1-50 (S1)



51-250 (S2)



251 or More (S3)

1,501 or More(SPHP3)

251 or More(M4)




Other Agencies

Special Award Considerations


Bicycle/pedestrian safety

International Agencies

CMV Safety - State Police

Military Police

CMV Safety - municipal/sheriff

Tribal Law Enforcement

Distracted Driving

Special Enforcement

Motorcycle Safety

Regional Enforcement Efforts

Occupant Protection


Speed Awareness





The 2015 National Law Enforcement Challenge application will be available this fall.  


National Law Enforcement Challenge applications are now only accepted electronically. In order to apply agencies will need to download the NLEC Content & Materials PDF, which will require you to answer submission disclosure questions and fill out narrative text boxes. 

Narrative Boxes/Text Boxes
These boxes should be used to provide evaluators with a brief description of what your agency did in this focus area. It is a great place to highlight major accomplishments. Agencies have a 2,000 character limit. 

Agencies should have two attachments for each section in a PDF, Word or PowerPoint format that contains your supplemental information. The first document should supplement the information from the narrative boxes/text boxes and include documentation/information to demonstrate the agency's activities and accomplishments. Agencies should make sure that the attachments contain the qualifying and quantifying information needed to answer the questions in the subsections (problem identification, policy, planning, training, PI&E, enforcement, and outcomes).

The second document must contain only the policy related to that section. If you are not submitting a copy of your policy for one of the sections (impaired driving, occupant protection, speed, or state/local), you should only have one attachment for the corresponding section. Please review the "How-To" guide for specific guidance on your attachments.

Additional attachments can be emailed for any special award considerations your agency would like to be considered for. Agencies who are applying for a special award consideration should have one attachment for each special award they would like to be considered for (No more than 10 pages).  No attachment is needed for the special award categories of occupant protection, impaired driving, or speed awareness. 

Each attachment should be no more than 10 pages and no larger than 10MB.

Agencies can email the Context & Materials document and all application attachments to Please make sure the subject line indicates your agency name and NLEC submission. 

  • You will receive a confirmation email once your application has been processed. 

 Learn more about how to apply online by reading the Step-by-Step Guide on How to Complete the Online Application

Submission Disclosure Questions. 

Agencies will need to answer every question in the submission disclosure section. Click here to review the questions. 

State Association and Governor's Highway Safety Office Award 

The State Association and Governor’s Highway Safety Office (GHSO) Award recognizes state associations and GHSO partners for their exceptional work in encouraging agencies in their state to participate in the National Law Enforcement Challenge (NLEC). To nominate a state association or GHSO, complete the application, including supporting documentation and appropriate references, and submit it to Please make sure the subject line indicates your applications for the state associations/ governor highway safety award. Application deadline to be announced this fall. 

Past NLEC Winners

2014 Challenge Winners

2012 Challenge Winners

2011 Challenge Winners

2010 Challenge Winners

2009 Challenge Winners

2007 Challenge Winners  

2006 Challenge Winners

2005 Challenge Winners

2004 Challenge Winners

Photos from the Past Year's Events


Traffic Safety Innovations

This year the IACP and NHTSA developed Traffic Safety Innovations, a booklet that provides insights from some of the National Law Enforcement Challenge winners about what ideas they are employing that have had a positive impact on their community. Traffic Safety Innovations provides a snapshot of what these agencies are doing to get people to buckle up and slow down. Click here to download a copy.

Traffic Safety Dispatch Newsletter


Contact Us

Sarah Horn,
703-836-6767, ext. 215

The International Association of Chiefs of Police: IACP Homepage