Midsize Agencies Section

Dedicated to providing a voice within the IACP for chiefs of jurisdictions with a population between 50,000 and 500,000, as well as a forum for these leaders to share the unique challenges and opportunities in policing that emerge from departments of this size. The section is further committed to embracing and leveraging the special capacity and flexibility of these agencies to innovate and drive progressive change within our profession with the goal of better policing our communities.

Section Brochure

Interest Areas/Activities

Membership

All IACP members who represent jurisdictions with populations of 50,000 to 500,000 are welcome and encouraged to join. IACP membership is a prerequisite. Section dues are $50.

Join the Section: download application or apply online

On-line Section Membership Directory (Requires current membership and web login for access.)

Section Leadership

Executive Committee
General Chair Chief Gordon Ramsay, Duluth MN, gramsay@duluthmn.gov  
Vice Chair - Populations >150K, Chief Paul Williams, Springfield MO, pfwilliams@springfieldmo.gov  
Vice Chair - Populations <150K, Chief Steve Menke, Olathe KS smenke@olatheks.org

Committees
Section Identity/Purpose, chaired by Chief John Morrissey, Kenosha WI, jmorrissey@kenosha.org  
National Benchmark Survey, chaired by Chief John Douglass, Overland Park KS, john.douglass@opkansas.org  
Best Practices, chaired by Chief Sandra Spagnoli, San Leandro CA, sspagnoli@sanleandro.org  
Membership / Recruitment, chaired by Chief Steve Menke, Olathe KS smenke@olatheks.org
National Agenda, chaired by Chief Jeff Sale, Bend OR, JSale@ci.bend.or.us

Meetings

2014 Annual Meeting, October 25, 2014

  • Meeting will be 1pm – 4pm at IACP 2014 in Orlando in Convention Center Rm W304CD
  • Agenda

2014 Midyear, March 2014

2012 Annual Meeting, October 1, 2012

2012 Midyear, May 2012

2011 Annual Meeting, October 22, 2011

2011 Midyear, March 24, 2011

Publications/Resources

Section Brochure

Section Charter

Midsize Cover

Midsize Police Agencies: Surviving, Thriving, and Forging a New Business Model for Law Enforcement in a Post-Recession Economy

 

 

 


Policing Mid-Size Cities—A Call for Research and Advocacy

Out of the Shadows – Policy Research for Midsize Law Enforcement Agencies – A Call for Action

 

 

 

 

 "Policing Mid-Size Cities—A Call for Research and Advocacy," Community Policing Dispatch, Office of Community Policing Services, December 2009


 Contact

The International Association of Chiefs of Police: IACP Homepage