J. Stannard Baker Award for Highway Safety

Sponsored by the IACP, the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), and the Northwestern University’s Center for Public Safety, this prestigious award annually recognizes individual law enforcement officers and others who have made significant outstanding lifetime contributions to highway safety.

To receive this award, an individual must first be nominated by a law enforcement agency or other traffic safety group or official; and second, be a full-time paid law enforcement officer of a state, county, metropolitan, or municipal agency or be an individual who has made a significant lifetime contribution to highway safety (such as a traffic engineer, educator, judge, prosecutor, or motor vehicle examiner).

The award is managed by the IACP, and the selection panel is made up of the members of the IACP's Highway Safety Committee.

The award presentation occurs during the Annual IACP Conference. Award recipients are invited to attend the Annual Conference where their awards are presented. Travel expenses to the Annual Conference, the cost of registration, and three nights’ stay at a designated hotel are provided to each recipient.

Click here to download the 2014 application and instructions

For more information, please contact Richard Ashton at (800) 843-4227, x276 or fax (703) 519-8721.

The International Association of Chiefs of Police: IACP Homepage