IACP Excellence in Technology Award Program


The IACP Excellence in Technology Award Program recognizes law enforcement agencies’ superior achievement and innovation in the field of communication and information technology. This international award program is designed to recognize exceptional, innovative, and extraordinary achievement in law enforcement technology-based programs, efforts, or initiatives that benefit law enforcement as a profession.



Achievements are recognized in the following areas:


Innovation in Information Technology - This category highlights the achievement of an agency in implementing an innovative information technology that enhances the effectiveness of law enforcement.


Response to Computer Related Crime - This category recognizes an innovative or highly effective approach to computer-related crime, including programs and case-specific achievements by an agency, organization, or through collaborative efforts.


Excellence in Law Enforcement Communications and Interoperability - This category recognizes an agency's implementation of technology to improve mission critical voice communications, interoperability and/or information/data sharing.

Four awards are given in each category based upon number of agency sworn personnel. Agency size categories are:

  • Small: 50 or fewer sworn personnel
  • Medium: 51 to 200 sworn personnel
  • Large: 200+ sworn personnel
  • Regional/Multi Jurisdictional Organization: Any size


Criteria and Judging:

Nominations may be submitted by any law enforcement agency through a web-based application on the IACP Web site. Applications will be judged by a panel of experts from IACP committees and/or the LEIM Section. The following five criteria areas will be used to judge nomination submissions: (1) Technical Merit; (2) Level of Innovation; (3) Effectiveness; (4) Ability to replicate; and (5) Overall Impact. All nominations should explicitly address these five categories. Four awards will be made annually for each of the three achievements. Only one achievement area per application may be selected.

Award Recognition:

IACP Excellence in Technology Award winning agencies receive a plaque and two full conference complimentary registrations to the Annual IACP Law Enforcement Information Management (LEIM) Training Conference & Technology Exposition. The 2011 LEIM Conference was held June 13-15, 2011 in San Diego, California. Awards were presented to the chief executive officer of each winning agency during a plenary session, and followed by an iXP-sponsored reception. Travel and related expenses for the conference are the responsibility of the winners. The winners will also be showcased in Police Chief Magazine and other IACP membership forums.


The IACP Excellence in Technology Award Program is being revised. The award will not be given in 2012, but we anticipate re-introducing the Excellence in Technology Award Program later this year and once again recognizing innovative programs at the 2013 LEIM Conference.

8th Annual IACP/iXP Excellence in Technology Award Winners


More detail regarding 2011 Excellence in Technology Award Winners can be found here.

Previous Award Winners:

7th Annual IACP/iXP Excellence in Technology Award Winners
6th Annual IACP/iXP Excellence in Technology Award Winners

Staff contact:

David J. Roberts
Senior Program Manager
IACP Technology Center
1-800-836-6767, ext. 315