Excellence in Police Aviation Award


Awarded by the leadership of the IACP and its Aviation Committee and made possible by the generous support of Bell Helicopter, the Excellence in Police Aviation Award is presented annually at the IACP conference. Awards are presented to an individual who holds a management or leadership position in police aviation and/or an aviation program or unit that exemplifies excellence in airborne law enforcement. The awards emphasize initiatives to enhance the general level and safety of operations, accident prevention programs, and the efficiency and effectiveness of airborne law enforcement. Efforts eligible for recognition can range from the unit level to the national or international level, including rotary, fixed-wing, or unmanned aircraft operations.


Nominations are to be submitted by a head of a component or agency who holds current membership in the IACP. Submissions are to be no more than two pages in length plus a cover letter on agency letterhead. Nominations may be accompanied by no more than a total of three additional pages of photographs or supporting documentation. No video or audio recordings will be accepted.

Nominations must be postmarked no later than June 30, 2016.

Submit nominations to:

International Association of Chiefs of Police
Attention: Mike Fergus
44 Canal Center Plaza, Suite 200
Alexandria, VA 22314
1-800-THE IACP


Related Links:

IACP Aviation Committee


Mike Fergus, (800) 843-4227 x811, fergus@theiacp.org for additional information.