Community Policing Committee

This committee shall study community policing strategies and operations. It shall work to define community policing and create standardized criteria for agencies employing it; formulate model policies and procedures for community police operations; sponsor, evaluate, and publish community-oriented policing research; coordinate and distribute literature and other community police resource and reference materials; develop and distribute community policing training curriculum and other learning materials for all levels of police personnel; compile a network of professional law enforcement and academic experts and contact persons on community policing; identify, reward, and portray as models agencies that have successfully implemented community-policing programs; and establish links with non-law enforcement social and human service agencies toward enhanced communication, training, and mutual problem solving.


IACP & Cisco Systems Community Policing Award

Applications for the 2016 IACP/Cisco Community Policing Award are now being accepted.

The IACP/Cisco Community Policing Award is presented in five categories for law enforcement agencies that serve populations of varying sizes. Additionally, agencies that use community-policing philosophies in the furtherance of homeland security initiatives are eligible for special homeland security recognition. Agencies that use the best of technology to support community-policing philosophies and principles are eligible for Best Use of Technology in Support of Community Policing Initiatives. Those categories are:

  • Agencies Serving a Population Fewer than 20,000
  • Agencies Serving a Population 20,001 to 50,000
  • Agencies Serving a Population 50,001 to 100,000
  • Agencies Serving a Population 100,001 to 250,000
  • Agencies Serving a Population Over 250,000
  • Special Homeland Security Recognition
  • Best Use of Technology in Support of Community Policing Initiatives


Archive of past IACP and Cisco Systems Community Policing Award winners.

Share with the world how your department has addressed community challenges through collaboration, prevention and proactive partnerships. Winners will be honored at the 2016 IACP Annual Conference in San Diego, CA. The winning agency from each category also receives one complimentary annual conference registration; transportation for one to and from the conference; one hotel room for five nights while at the conference; and two tickets to the awards banquet.


Apply now to be a winner in the IACP and Cisco Systems Community Policing Awards


To enter online, please visit




For more information, contact the IACP Committees Team.