IACP Community Policing Award

Communigy Policing Award Logo

Since 1998, the IACP’s Community Policing Committee has recognized outstanding community policing initiatives undertaken by law enforcement agencies worldwide through the annual Community Policing Award, sponsored by Cisco Systems.

The award identifies and rewards best practices in community policing by recognizing police organizations that use the power of collaboration and partnerships to make local, national, and global communities safer from crime and terrorism.

The winners and finalists provide a model for improved police services on issues that are specific to individual communities but are valuable for all communities around the world.

The IACP/Cisco Community Policing Award is presented in five categories for law enforcement agencies that serve populations of varying sizes and university and college police. Additionally, agencies that use community-policing philosophies in the furtherance of homeland security initiatives are eligible for special homeland security recognition. Agencies that use the best of technology to support community-policing philosophies and principles are eligible for Best Use of Technology in Support of Community Policing Initiatives. The seven categories are:

  • Agencies Serving a Population Fewer than 20,000
  • Agencies Serving a Population 20,001 to 50,000
  • Agencies Serving a Population 50,001 to 100,000
  • Agencies Serving a Population 100,001 to 250,000
  • Agencies Serving a Population Over 250,000
  • Special Homeland Security Recognition
  • Best Use of Technology in Support of Community Policing Initiatives Special Recognition


Archive of past IACP and Cisco Systems Community Policing Award winners.

Share with the world how your department has addressed these challenges through collaboration, prevention and proactive partnerships. Winners will be honored at the 2017 IACP Annual Conference in Philadelphia The winning agency from each category also receives one complimentary annual conference registration; transportation for one to and from the conference; and one hotel room for five nights while at the conference.

For further information, contact awards@theiacp.org